1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My friend cut herself.

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by person57, Sep 1, 2013.

1. person57

She showed me her arm and told me she cuts herself. I asked her if she was depressed and she said no. She has also been acting different lately. She has been acting more rude and mean lately. What should I do?

2. person57

3. RainyViolinist

Have you asked why she cuts herself? She might be frustrated because she has no one to talk to about her problems. Although I'm no expert on this type of thing, I think you should assert that you're there for her. Ask if she knows that that kind of action is not healthy. Normally, a person cuts themselves as a way to release pain or forget the internal pain that they feel. Again, I am not an expert, and the most important thing you should do is see that she gets psychiatric help if she can.

4. person57

I just talked to her, she said she's having problems with this one person but she won't tell me about it. I told her that I'll always be there for here and she can talk to me about anything. I also recommended counseling to her because she didn't want to talk about it to me but she doesn't want to see a counselor. I also told her that cuttting is unhealthy but she refuses to get help

5. RainyViolinist

Hmm... This is a tough one. There's not much you can do then. The best you can really do is just support her and give her an open ear whenever she's down. Hopefully she'll come around and get professional help because that's really dangerous to do. I'm sorry you have to watch your friend do this to herself (*hug*).

6. SecretlyASloth

More likely than not, she's suffering. Cutting yourself is not some mill of the day thing to do.

You should take the time to sit down with her and just tell her that you are here for her. Don't push for info, just let her know that she has a friend if she wants one.