1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Friends Ignore the Gay-Me

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Emberblaze, Sep 12, 2013.

1. Emberblaze

So I was getting my senior pictures done yesterday, and I wore this hat that has the two male symbols interlocked with a heart in between, and I was wearing it in one of my pictures and the photographer asked what the symbol meant, and I gauchely told him "gay stuff" (lols... I'm still an amateur at calling myself gay). So he said that he liked the hat and that it was cool that I could wear it like that and he revealed that his father is gay as well, so we just had a quick little conversation about that (and on a side note, I swear to God he looked a lot like Adam Beach who played on Law and Order SVU [​IMG])

But, anyways, that little experience made me feel really good and proud about myself and really makes me feel much more able to talk comfortably about my orientation, but it DID make me start to think about how alone I feel about it. I'm totally out at school to all my friends and my immediate family, and well, it seems like everyone says they accept it, buuut nobody ever wants to hear anything about it...

It's just completely uncomfortable to mention it around most of my friends. I feel like they just completely ignore the fact that i'm gay. I can only talk about guys around just three of my female friends, and it's not like I just go on and on and on about hot guys and yadda, yadda, yadda, but, I feel like I can be MYSELF.

I even talked to my best friend about how I know nobody wants to hear about what I have to/ had to go through to come to terms to my orientation, and, he changed the subject right after that. Man, it sucks really.

This is more of a rant to be honest, but, does anyone else have friends or experiences like this and were you able to talk to them about it at all?

2. LinkLarkin