1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mistaken for straight and not fixing it--bad?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by oddlife35, Sep 18, 2013.

1. oddlife35

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I've moved to a new town and have been making new friends at work. I think most of them assume that I'm straight. This week for some reason, the females at work keep saying stuff like, "Which girls do you think are cute?" and stuff like that. I don't say I'm straight, but I don't say that I'm not straight. The main thing is is that I haven't come out to my family yet, so I don't want to come out to these new friends before I tell my family. Also, I'm new at being publicly gay and I don't have a partner, so it's really awkward to be gay in front of straight people. But I feel like what I'm doing is wrong since I'm almost ready to come out, but it's just not the right time for me... or maybe I'm just copping out? Do you guys feel the same way?

2. Abbra

Coming out of the closet isn't a race. It isn't wrong to not answer at this point, because you still aren't fully out. Just don't lie about it or anything and just take your time with answering. It gets easier once you are out to everybody. You are just in the awkward and pimply stage of homosexuality. Being open gets easier, just don't stress yourself too much about coming out. You have to do everything at your own pace.

3. oddlife35

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay