1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I have a crush on my straight friend

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by elle97, Sep 25, 2013.

1. elle97

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Ok so I'm a sophomore in high school, and I have a crush on one of my friends who is straight. I'm not out to anyone, and I've never done anything with a girl, but I really like this one girl. Even though she is probably straight is there anything I can do to get her to like me? Or should I just move on?

By the way, we aren't best friends but we're pretty close, and i see her everyday, so getting over her would be difficult.

2. resu

Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    You can't make her like you, but you can be closer, may be do some activity together, and see if she's possibly interested in you as more than a friend.

3. Abbra

I'm going to say that it's probably best for you and your friendship if you move on. It's really unhealthy and painful to hold out for someone who isn't going to ever see you in the same way. Accept your feelings and what they mean to you, and then try to let them go over time. Don't just hold them in, because that won't fix anything. You have to actually feel them, let them go, and heal.

However, I will offer an alternate suggestion. If you think that it wouldn't ruin the friendship, and you are more comfortable, it could be an option to talk to her about it. I don't know your relationship with her, but at the end of the conversation you either end up with closure or a lover. But don't do this if you think that it's going to scar you in some way.

4. kitkattz

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people