1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My family keeps asking for money

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by El Extranjero, Oct 30, 2013.

1. El Extranjero

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I've become quite frustrated recently at how often my family asks me for money. I'm by no means wealthy, or even financially comfortable. I'm in my final year of University and even though I have very little debt, I have lots of expenses. I get a number of grants and scholarships, that I had to work hard for, which mean I am getting a pretty significant amount of money, but by the time I pay my rent, bills, credit card and student loan I'm not left with a huge amount.
    This month alone, my family (my mother and sister) have asked me for over €1,100 ($1,500+) which I have given to them. The reason that it's starting to annoy me so much is that I keep getting phone calls at least every other day asking for €20, or €50 or a few hundred. What is most annoying about it though is that my family don't have much debt at all and have a pretty high income, certainly more than many others that I know. However, there are never groceries in the house, I often have to do the shopping when I go home some weekends. Bills are seldom paid on time, even though I know the money is there, and I end up having to pay them. Any time we go places, she'll go in to a shop and pick up loads of stuff that I know she can't pay for and she usually ends up asking me to put them on my card. My sister gave up her job recently and moved back home, she asked me for a loan of a few hundred and told me that she had something lined up and that she was good for the money. It turned out whatever she had lined up fell through and now there's no chance that she'll be able to pay me back any time soon. They're both constantly living beyond their means and it's ridiculous.