1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to force yourself to have a hard conversation

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by lostlifeguard, Nov 17, 2013.

1. lostlifeguard

I've been kind of dating this guy for 2 months, and he's getting really clingy and stressing me out so I want to tell him that I can't be in a relationship with him anymore. I'm new to the whole dating thing, and for me it's easier to just avoid him, but I know that will only make things worse (he lives in my dorm, so that can't happen).
    Do you have any advice for how you get yourself motivated/ pumped up for a conversation like this? I tried to have this talk yesterday, but when I started talking to him I didn't actually tell him this, and I just made excuses. I just need to be honest, but I have such issues being blunt and straight forward.
    Advice?

Thanks

2. SomeNights

Have you expressed to him anything about the clingyness bothering you? I think that would be a better place to start.

3. lostlifeguard

I have, and it's not just that. He's been getting super passive aggressive towards me when I don't want to sleepover in his room, and overall I'm just tired of it. It stresses me out so much to have to deal with him all the time and I want out of the relationship. I just need to get myself to end it.

4. lostlifeguard

On top of all this, I kind of have a crush on someone else who I want to pursue, but I can't do that in good conscience until I know that we're not in a relationship.

5. SomeNights

There is no "easy" way to say it. The best thing to do is to just come out with it. "_____ we need to talk. This isn't working anymore." Then follow up with reasons why. I'd leave the part about someone else out of it though. Besides that, just be honest

6. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone