1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I email a pastor about his opinion?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Dakine, Nov 24, 2013.

1. Dakine

Out Status:
    A few people
    So at church today the pastor brought up his views on same sex stuff. I'm relatively new to this church so no one even knows who I am. I'm interested in discussing this topic further with him but I'm also not really out of the closet...6 ppl know I'm bi and that's kind of how I want to keep it right now. I grew up in a religion that basically told me fags were going to hell unless they repented from their evil ways. That was a long struggle for me. It's only been recently that I've educated myself on the topic and have come to the conclusion that God loves me and it is a bad misinterpretation of his word.

I would really like to see why this pastor would bring up this topic on the platform. Does he know what he's talking about? Why does he have this opinion etc?

As I side note I love the statement "I have nothing against these ppl but.....".... To me that is such a pussy cop out. Be a man/woman and say what u really mean.

2. Lance

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    You could ask him, but usually deeply religious people, especially pastors, are extremely hard to reason with and won't really budge on their feelings and outlooks on different subjects(even when they know nothing about them personally and just go by what they think the Bible says). He could potentially try to make you feel bad, guilty, and wrong for being gay/bisexual if that is something he is against. What about trying to find an LGBT affirming church in your area that isn't as ignorant? They do exist out there.

3. Dakine

Out Status:
    A few people