1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is an age gap unrealistic?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Cuddleable, Nov 24, 2013.

1. Cuddleable

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    So, my situation is a little odd, and I'd love to hear opinions on it.
    I'm 16, and I'm a lesbian. I've always been more into women a LOT older than me. Like, 35+. I know it's kinda weird, but I know I can't be the only one like me.
    I am not in high school. I graduated 2 years ahead, and I am in college (living at home, though) so I'm surrounded by beautiful older women. I know I would have a chance with a lot of them. I don't look my age, and I make an effort to not act it. If I never told anyone, they'd never guess.
    I really want to be in a relationship with someone. But I don't think I could ever do it unless I was being dishonest about my age. I know I'm not "legal," but I'm just not interested in my own age range.
    I don't know that I can wait until I'm 18. Is that really my only option?
    Anyone else been through anything similar? Would love to know thoughts from all ages.

2. Akatosh

Cuddleable, welcome to EC!

You may be attracted to women that much older than you, but speaking from experience, you will be a better candidate dating older women in about 5 years. I was still maturing emotionally, along with most everyone my age, and was better able to 'handle' myself after 21/22. I'd say wait until then to date women that much older than you. While I don't feel that it is wrong, if you did date a woman who was 35+, she would most likely match your current maturity, which could be indicative of her own immaturity. I hope this makes sense.

3. Ridiculous

Large age gaps can work... but usually they don't.