1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Conversation woes

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by BookDragon, Dec 10, 2013.

1. BookDragon

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    So I've stumbled across a problem, and even though I know I'm over thinking it, I need help.

Before I explain my problem I want to make some things clear:
    -I have serious confidence issues. I am just starting to learn self worth, but it's coming very slowly and I still worry that nobody will ever love me
    -I am terrible at talking to people I don't know and I always have been
    -I suffer with depression and anxiety and currently the anxiety is getting worse
    -I never EVER start conversations or talk to strangers
    -I've only ever had one relationship that I got into by accident

So I posted a while back about how I made a profile on a dating website. Well I found a girl on it that I thought was cute, and whose interests really closely matched mine. It took me a while but I eventually FORCED myself to send her a message. I was stunned to find that she messaged me back!

Now basically my message just said Hi and asked if they would like to message me back. We sent a few back and forth and I've now added her on steam where we've spoken a couple of times. Good stuff!

BUT there is a problem. See I don't DO conversation, not really. I WANT to, but I find it difficult. I can talk to my friends easily enough because I've known them for years, I know them as well as I know myself, we are as close as family. I don't know this girl. I want to, but currently I don't.

My problems are two-fold...or maybe more-fold if I think of more as I'm typing!

The first, regards message content.