1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LESBIAN/RELIGIOUS: leaving an emit. abusive relationship

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by evesgarden, Dec 19, 2013.

1. evesgarden

Out Status:
    A few people
    hello dearest people on this site! it's been a very long time since i've posted. about 6-7 months. but I'm back again. :icon_redf

I had been in a relationship with the same girl for 2 years (today we are 20 and 19). Being my first same-sex relationship, i was a big newbie. i didn't understand that falling for a "straight" girl was a big no-no that would blow up in my face (..many many times over). I thought she was intriguing, partially mysterious, beautiful, charming, witty, and above all had gorgeous smoldering eyes. I was enamored immediately. Despite that she was extremely religious (muslim), we progressed. the first memories i have encountering her in high school are of her making me cry. which tells me something now doesn't it? anyway, i finally mustered the strength to go all the way, to end it and no amount of pleading, anger, crying, and desperation (where she kneeled down and asked me to marry her, or where she took off her scarf in the middle of the street so that we could now look like two plain ol' girls in love) could stop me. It's been three days, and as much as i feel i have made the right decision and my counselor at uni also supports me setting up boundaries, i am still hurt. how can i possibly feel this way when i know in my bones our relationship dynamic was poisonous? toxic? unhealthy? :confused: i really need the warmth of this community to shine through and show me I'm not crazy..or that I'm not making a huge mistake.