1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Romantic Relationship with Genderqueer Friend -- advice?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by LibraryKitten, Dec 25, 2013.

1. LibraryKitten

Out Status:
    Some people
    I just started seeing someone new this past November, and it seems that we're both very serious about each other (he has invited me to visit [edit: meet] his family over spring break, and I intend to fly down and do it). My new partner and I look heteronormative from the outside, but I'm pansexual, and he's genderqueer. I only recently realized that I'm attracted to women (I talked about my experience figuring that out in my last post, here). I've never been with a woman before, and even though I thought I wanted my next relationship to be with a woman, now that I've met this person, I'm focused entirely on him (them?).

I have little to no previous experience knowing, let alone dating, someone who identifies as genderqueer. He tells me that he prefers genderneutral pronouns, but that he's used to being referred to as male, and is not offended when that happens. He has also told me that he would prefer to have been born in a female body, but he hasn't made up his mind yet whether he would ever want to transition. I've told him that whatever he decides, I want to be there to support him. I know almost nothing about the available transition procedures, but I would like to be as informed as possible, both because I want to be an effective partner for this person, and because I don't really know what I'm getting myself into. I've done some online research, but I would appreciate if you guys could tell me anything you wish the people around you knew, particularly romantic partners who have never personally experienced gender dysphoria.