1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chinese Culture?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by AaronMed, Jan 2, 2014.

1. AaronMed

Hey guys,

So as some of you already know, I'm kind-of-sort-of dating this guy who we'll call Alex. He's Chinese, and there's a little bit o a language barrier, but that's not a big deal. What I'm more concerned with is the culture barrier. I'm totally clueless when it comes to Chinese culture. I know next to nothing about Chinese history, I don't understand the customs, and I feel like I'm kind of flailing in the wind.

To all you Chinese gay guys (and guys dating them), any advice? I'm lost...

2. UnAmourFatal

I'm majoring in Chinese and I know nothing about Chinese history (and i'm not proud of that), but I mean that's like the easies to help, look around on wikipedia?
    Same with customs, but I don't think they would cause sooooo much trouble in the relationship as long as you both communicate clearly and don't get offended at the start...Like with opening presents. The Chinese don't open presents in front of those who gave them, and can find it offensive if their presents are opened by the receivers. But even this is changing, especially for the younger generation.

So consider yourself lucky to be able to experience this amazing culture first hand, and I suggest you start studying Chinese, it's extremely useful, and nothing makes it easier than having a Chinese bf..:slight_smile:

Good luck!:slight_smile:

3. CloudyEver