1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unaccepting Family?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by bornthiswaybby, Jan 4, 2014.

1. bornthiswaybby

This is my first thread and the reason I created my account originally...

I need advice.

I'll give a bit of background-

I'm a high school student who is closeted to most people but a few friends know and I (unfortunately) came out to my parents.

I first told somebody last year, in about May. It's when I finally told myself I was bisexual. I later realized I was just flat out gay (I guess bisexual was a first step).

It was so scary but once I did it I felt so proud. It was like one of many rocks lifted off of my shoulder. I then had the courage to tell a couple others, and every time it gets easier!

The thing that was no easy task, however, was telling my mother. In July or August, I sat my mother down, and I just began bawling my eyes out. I felt like a disgrace and I was sure she would be so disappointed in me. My Mom was never homophobic, but my father was and I was worried she would feel similar and not accept me. After I pushed out the words "I'm................................ GAY" it was such a relief but I was still terrified.

She told me "I still love you and always will" so I felt great, except she said she didn't think I could know for sure since I never had a serious relationship with a girl. But I knew she was just unaware, but still I said "Maybe you're right" out of fear of not being accepted further.

I knew my father was homophobic, so after telling my mother, I told her YOU CAN NOT TELL DAD. What do you think she did? Of course, went and told him.

He didn't even look me in the eyes for days, and didn't say a word to me for a week or 2.