1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My experience with the church.

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by IcelandLover, Mar 11, 2014.

1. IcelandLover

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Well I have known i was gay since i was eleven years old, and when i was 14 years old I began to attend a new church being formed by dear family friends. We have known each other for quite some time, having attended the same church we left. I felt the need to disclose my true, open self to others. One of the people I told was my friend Stefy, who is the daughter of the pastor who ministers at the church. I told her when i was 12, and i am now 16. I am a pianist, and i played in the worship ministry at the church. One day at music practice, i was talking to a friend of a friend that i recently met, and being openly gay, she realized this without me telling her. We began to look at pictures of guys she and I thought were attractive on her cell phone, which i didn't think was a big deal at the time. Two weeks passed, and i did not receive any word of further band practice, which i thought odd. One day, I was riding my bike, and when i arrived home the pastor was at our house, and he said that his daughter, my "friend" Stefy told him that two weeks before at their house during practice, i was looking at men on a friends phone. He said that he knew I was gay, and that i could no longer play the piano on the music ministry because of my homosexuality. He said that i needed to "open my mind" to the possibility of "becoming straight" through the "power of Christ" and that i was too young to know about sexual orientation. He said the i was no longer to talk to his daughter (who also attends my school) and that if i did so then he would tell the principal of our school of my sexual orientation and that i would be expelled (it being a c