1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lost...

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Aeris, Apr 19, 2014.

1. Aeris

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight but curious
    Hello! My name is Erin and i'm new to Empty Closets. I found myself up tonight, thinking and rethinking things that have been on my mind for many months now. I found myself lost, as I often do when thinking over these issues, and decided to Google them just to see what came up. And here I find myself, after having read similar posts, seeking some perspective on my situation.

I'm 31 years old. My husband and I have been married for nine years and we have two beautiful girls, ages eight and four. My husband came to the realization about six months ago that he is transgender. My initial reaction was an overwhelming well of emotions. Since then, we've come a long way, I'd like to think. We've had many discussions, both in regard to our relationship as well as with our children and significant family members and friends. Almost everyone has been supportive, myself included. Yet I find myself at a loss at times like this because I really have no one to reach out and talk to.

I love my husband. He's a wonderful person and as I saw someone point out here on a similar thread, all of the qualities that I would point out as positive things that I absolutely love about him are genderless. I came to the realization, in recent weeks, that I don't care if he's a man, woman, or martian. My love for him will endure. At the same time, as I've related to him, I am going through a grieving process. In a sense, the man that I married has died, yet I am glad to say he's being reborn as a wonderful and confident woman.