1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cutting and Crushing on the gay guy?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by shadowraptor, Apr 26, 2014.

1. shadowraptor

Since I graduated from middle school last year, I've kind of lost touch with quite a few people that I wanted to maintain friendships with, really only talking to a select group of friends. There's this one girl that I'd had a crush on when I was younger, from about third grade to sixth grade, that I managed to keep in touch with. And from what she recently told me, it seems like it's been a burden for her to be near me.

One of our mutual friends (let's call her Ana) who happens to go to the same school as her recently texted me and informed me that she had recently been depressed. This greatly upset me, because this friend (let's call her Sarah) was always so upbeat and happy and fun to be around. And, being me, I decided to text Sarah and ask her how everything was going.

It started out simple enough, with the "We haven't talked in forever" and "I miss you so much". So I ask her what's up, and she tells me she's going on a date tomorrow and I'm all "oh that's cool, what's he like, what's his name". Then, I bring up that Ana told me she was depressed. She told me how she used to cut and that she hates herself and her body, and I tried to lighten the mood a little but it didn't really work. She apparently carved the word "fat" into her thigh, which she is FAR from. Sarah started ranting about how she wasn't pretty and how she was fat and stupid. So I told her that she was beautiful, that she was one of the coolest people I knew. I gave her the whole "cutting is bad" shpiel and reminded her that no one is perfect, that I hate myself sometimes too and told her I was proud of her for getting over that bad point in her life and that she was seeing a therapist and psychiatrist.