1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Friend's insult

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Gates, Apr 29, 2014.

1. Gates

Gates Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    So... I have a friend and I've thought that we were quite close. She comes from a very privileged background in which she attended and advanced high school, private college, etc. She took art classes, piano lessons, and traveled to different continents as a child. Her parents and grandparents all have graduate degrees. Now, I am completely self-taught from grades 7-12 (was skipped a grade), had almost no access to outside activities (I did take martial arts for a few months as a teenager), and have only traveled to one island outside of the US. I will be the first in my family to earn a Master's degree from a research university, and the first to earn a PhD. We passed by a loud grunge/ illegal pot/ who-knows-what-else store while walking from a cafe and they were blasting horrid rap music. I made the comment that it wasn't music and she immediately accused me of being an elitist. She then played screamo music at me to try to prove that it was art; I conceded that the instrumental music in the background was music but stated that I do not view screaming as artistic. She became obviously frustrated and continued to suggest that I was being exclusionary - keep in mind that I wasn't trying to regulate what she or anyone else listens to or views as artistic - I was only expressing my opinion. It ended with me feeling extremely offended and disappointed in her when she is the very definition of white privilege and I went to a school where I had to chase straying goats and people stoned me (seriously, with rocks). She has the privilege to reject her own elitism because she's completely protected. I absolutely cannot fail; I have worked hard for everything and have, in t