1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creating an abundance mentality

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by socalguitarguy, May 12, 2014.

1. socalguitarguy

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey all,

One of my major issues, I think, is that I have a scarcity mindset when it comes to gay dating. If I could only convince myself that there are "plenty of fish in the sea" for me, I think that optimism would greatly reduce my anxiety. I successfully fell in love with the second guy I ever went out with, which you'd think would help me feel like there's plenty of fish in the sea (since what are the chances of finding a great match like that so quickly if they're THAT hard to come by?). However, since he broke my heart more than a year ago (and replaced me in three months) I have gone on many first dates (it was perhaps a little excessive at times) and have not been able to find anyone who can excite me. The few guys that had some potential turned out to be flakes and things fizzled before I could really get to know them. The guys who are into me never seem to do that much for me emotionally, and I feel so guilty about hurting and disappointing others when I have been so hurt and let down myself. I am not a believer in "the one." I know there MUST be other guys that I can fall for if I found the first one so quickly after starting to date. But I have just not been impressed with what I've found, and I can't help but feel more and more like I won a lottery that I just wasn't ready to win, and now my ticket has blown away in the wind.