1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stuck in a moment

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Dans le placard, May 24, 2014.

1. Dans le placard

I came out last year and I'm very comfortable with my sexuality and all that. However, I still don't feel that I'm making that much progress regarding relationships and gay friends.

I briefly joined a choir, but I didn't really like it. I've tried online dating, but haven't had much success. I briefly had a relationship with a guy that way, but it ended on a sour note. I'm not good at team sports, so gay sports clubs are mostly ruled out. There are some gay societies that interest me, but they're all in London.

Most of the gays I have met have snubbed me for one reason or another. There were also some where we just couldn't connect. I work a lot, so don't have much time for myself, and many of my straight friends have been moving away for jobs.

I'm going to be blunt and say that I'm now despairing. I honestly feel like I'm never going to be able to meet people, and that I'll end up single and friendless forever. Please, can anyone tell me what you've done if you were in a situation like this, and what you did to remedy it successfully.

2. IG88

With the relationships that didn't work out, what were the reasons? Was it personality clashes, lack of personality, quirks, body type?

I'm sure that there are things we can all work on...improve some areas, and explore new ones to make ourselves a better/more interesting person. Not that I'm saying that you have to change to please another person, but if you aren't the person the person you're looking for is looking for, then you have room for improvement.

So the choir didn't work. Are you interested in other areas of music, like instrumental things? Or is there another hobby that you would prefer?

3. DangerAlex