1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm having a really bad girl-crush DILEMMA

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by shortie, May 30, 2014.

1. shortie

ack this is my first time posting here so bear with me

First off, I've always known that I'm not straight but it hit me like a train around a month ago when I fell head over heels for one of my best (and only) female friends. After some google searches six months back I found a label that described me well. (Demi-pansexual.) I started coming out to close friends just this month. I've only had two crushes before and they were on very close male friends but it was strongly personality-based. I always thought it possible for me to fall in love with another girl but it just clicked with her. And god, things are just uselessly complicated.

One of my problems: she comes across as very not straight. (I have asked around and almost everyone is or was at some point under the impression that she's either openly or closeted lesbian.) She's incredibly intelligent (she's definitely a genius) and intense. She's incredibly assertive, does well in leadership positions and speaks in a commanding tone. She's absolutely gorgeous and butch. She doesn't like girly things and doesn't seem to enjoy the company of "girly girls", preferring to hang out with guys or, well, me. Apparently I'm her "only close female friend". In so many words, she sets off the gaydar.

She's a seriously beautiful girl. Fierce, commanding, handsome. She wears her dark brown hair in a long pixie cut. She has rectangular glasses and dresses in lovely earth tones and rocks flannel. She sings INCREDIBLY well and can act better than anyone in the entire drama department (it's a performing arts magnet, too- she was called back for the lead in a musical as a freshman) and she can dance and she's the smartest person I know. Accck.