1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confusion in my First Relationship

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by AustReed, Jun 4, 2014.

1. AustReed

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I've never been more confused over something as simple as my current (and first) actual relationships. I first met my boyfriend about 5 months ago from some mutual friends and quickly hit it off. The problem was and still is that he lives about 2 hours away from me. I tend to over think everything in my relationship and I just don't want to mess up. We even waited months to make sure if either of us were ready for a relationship.

I'm a freshman in college and came out as soon as I came to college fully, and before that a few friends here and there. The real issue in my relationship is I can't tell if I'm truly happy. I would NEVER cheat on my boyfriend but more recently I've just thought about other guys more often. The thing is when he visits I'm happy (or at least I think I am) and then when he leaves sometimes I even forget I have him. I don't know if I feel that "spark in our relationship... And the thing is he is perfect. The most caring person I've ever met, strong values, close with his family, everything. And I know he really and truly cares for me.

I just need some advice on where to head from here. Am I just scared of committing to one person? Is he not the right one? I think about it every second and I just thought the community here could provide some sort of insight. Another thing is that we decided to lose our virginity to each other and I have no regrets there. But the last thing I want to do is hurt him.

Thank you.

2. DangerAlex

It's possible that you and your boyfriend are just getting out of the honeymoon phase, which has a way of looking like you've "lost the spark" in your relationship. That's just one initial thought I had.