1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mom & Same-Sex Partner Hate Each Other

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by cm523, Aug 6, 2014.

1. cm523

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hello everyone - I am new to this, so forgive me of this is not a typical post (or an all-too common) post!

Long story short: my mother does not care much for my same-sex partner, and unfortunately, the feelings are mutual. They both see themselves as "trying" to get along better, but when it comes down to it, stuck in the middle trying (and failing) to make them both happy.

It has taken my mom several years to adjust to the idea that I am a lesbian, and she has certainly made some mistakes. Her not-so-great feelings about my partner stems from her not wanting me to be with a woman (not necessarily my partner), compounded by the fact that I will be marrying my partner very soon. My mother has made great strides, but my partner is very protective over me and has seen how much my mother has hurt me in the past. She is having a hard time of letting go and seeing my mom as a good person.

All this to say - I am going crazy! Any suggestions or advice?!

<\3

2. joshy the queen

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone