1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm Sleeping with my Supervisor. HELP!

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by PacificNW1987, Sep 6, 2014.

1. PacificNW1987

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hi All, I am new to the Boards and in desperate need of advice. I would typically consult my friends, but this needs to be kept on the DL.

In May, I completed my Master's Degree in a Program that required me to meet with a Doctoral Supervisor for one hour each week throughout my second year. While there is nothing in a "Code of Ethics" that prohibits a platonic / romantic / sexual relationship with a Supervisor, it is strongly recommended against. However, our Program is small, and the Master's and Doctoral students share similar social circles.

When my Supervisor and I met in Sept. 2013, I thought she was cute, but rarely thought about it. She knew I was an open lesbian and I knew that she had a boyfriend of five years, but for the most part, she was strictly business, not even wanting to know if I had a dog, sibling, or what I did for Thanksgiving. What's more, we seemed to have fundamentally different beliefs about our field, and often got into heated, probably unprofessional arguments. There were a couple of sessions in which she got teary-eyed, and I became so angry that I'd start to shake. Everything came to a head in March 2014, when she attempted to have me REMOVED from the Program, stating that I was making minimal progress. However, after several meetings with my Adviser, the Department Head, and Internship Supervisor, it was decided I could finish the Program and graduate. Our final session in May was awkward and tense, it was like we couldn't wait to get out, but at the same time, couldn't get out of our chairs. We left saying we cared for one another, tried hard with one another, but we weren't a professional fit.