1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Really scared I will be found out..

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by hereiam, Oct 31, 2014.

1. hereiam

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Not trying to throw some kind of pity party, but since there is no one I can talk to about this in real life...I might as well vent anonymously online.

I'm a college student. I've known that I am bisexual (leaning more strongly toward women -- I am female) since I was ~13, and thinking back to my childhood, it is pretty clear that I had crushes on girls.

My main worry is that I will be off guard and say/do something stupid that will lead to people being sure that I am gay.

It is out of the question for me to come out as my parents are extremely homophobic. I'm pretty sure my parents were suspicious of me when I was a teenager, and on more than one occasion, expressed their extreme disdain for homosexuality.

My mother frequently mentions that she is afraid of homosexuals, and that I need to be careful at university because "there are a lot of gay people there."

One time on the news, they were talking about the new Ugandan policies that would impose the death penalty on homosexuality, and my father (drunkenly) stated how he agrees with that, and that he thinks that gay people should be killed.

I would frankly rather die than have to sever my relationship with my parents, as they really do mean the world to me. Although in some ways against reason, I respect and love them so much to the point that I am willing to stay in the closet until they pass away.