1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Think I am in love with my Straight Best Friend

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by collegebiguy, Nov 22, 2014.

1. collegebiguy

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Hi everyone! I am new to this forum, and I'd like advice on how to deal with my situation... I think I am in love with my straight best friend:icon_sad:

I've been out of the closet to all my friends and some family members as bisexual for about 4 years now, so I know how to deal with things of that matter: but this is new.
    Around the start of fall semester at my College (I am a Freshman), I met this guy through my roommate. He was my roommate's roommate during orientation, so they got to know each other.

He's very attractive, athletic, and smart. He has problems with self esteem and anxiety, and that is one of the many things that drew me close to him. I have problems with self esteem (Single for about 5 years now), and we both suffer from light depression. We have similar tastes in music, movies, and video games; we also connect on a deeper . level, for example, we have long conversations about what we want in life and how we were previously. It is now November, and we became best friends.

Even though it was a short time, we already agreed that we'd stay in each other's lives for as long as we could. We even made plans to room together sophomore year. I've helped him through depressive modes, anxiety attacks, and a very messy heart break from one of our friends.(Long story short, he really liked this girl who came from the same high school as I, and she rejected him for another one of our friends.).