1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Figuring out my new friend

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by abominable, Dec 29, 2014.

1. abominable

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Let me applogize in advance because I'm sure there are thousands of posts just like mine on here. However, sometimes it feels good just to vent a bit and get some personalized advice. I appologize for any gramatical errors, but it's 3AM and I can't get this off my mind.

So let me start with a little about myself and then I'll get into the story. I'm a recent college grad who is steping out into the "real world" for the first time. I think I'm fairly successful in the academic and professional side of my life, but emotionally and relationship wise, I'm null and void. I've never been in a relationship with anybody before (guy or girl); I just never really saw myself as an emotional person who was capable of affection if that makes any sense. I guess all the bullying I dealt with in school kind of forced me to be extra cautious of any sort of relationship. Likewise, the fact that I've been questioning my sexuality since I was 5 hasn't made the situation any easier. Hell, I even have a difficult time becoming too attached to people as friends and when I do, I'm always cautious about calling them my "best friend." Even then, I don't share my emotions with even my so-called "best friends." Basically I feel as though I'm walking around with a mask on. The other day I stumbled upon a Steve Jobs quote "Your time is limited...so don't waste it living someone else's life." While I wish I could do that, I feel like I've been doing just the opposite for the past 22 years and there's no escape.

Now, enough about me and let's dig into the situation. Some of the story if not in chronological order for the sake of simplicity, but that shouldn't detract from anything.