1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

trying to convince my mom i dont like playing sports

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by RadioRoss, Jan 3, 2015.

1. RadioRoss

So, ive been playing field hockey and lacrosse since around 3rd/4th grade. For a while, I really enjoyed it and it was a passion of mine. Until around 6th grade though, i started to get stressed out by both sports and i would feel really bored during practices and most games of both sports. In seventh grade, lacrosse became so stressful and boring that i told my mom i wanted to quit, and i gave her some reasons and she, slightly unwillingly, let me quit and i didnt play lacrosse this year. Field hockey, something that i started playing later than lacrosse and something that i enjoyed a bit more than lacrosse, continued to be in my life this year, and i played another season, in which i convinced myself that my distaste towards playing sports was real and that i needed to tell my mom i wanted to quit. She was much more upset and confused this time. When i first told her, it was during spring. To this day, the conversation still pops up and we argue about it. I tell her that it stresses me out and that i simply dont enjoy the sport. There are people on my team who dislike me and can be pretty mean at times, and there are other things in my life that are more important to me that i want to focus on during high school. She retorts saying that sports will keep me healthy and social, and that just because something stresses me out, i shouldnt run away from it, because there will be many things in life that are important that will stress me out. I tell her that ill run, bike, and generally work out more if i quit doing sports. She says that working out by myself is different from sports. I tell her that if im happy and healthy and doing well in school, then why should i have to do sports?