1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No social life, please help

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by The Odd One, Feb 23, 2015.

1. The Odd One

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    So I graduated high school back in June, before that I had a group of about 5-6 very close friends plus auxiliaries before losing contact with every last one of them when they scattered into the wind following graduation. Until recently and for as long as I could remember, I had thought of myself as a loner having such a small social group and never save once or twice a year meeting with them outside of school. As the months went on I relished the freedom of isolation but have experienced some discomfort as time has gone on. At first it was nothing but it has slowly grown into a serious problem, the loneliness has lately begun to have a tangible effect on life as I know it. This seems to come and go, one moment I am fine and ten minutes later I would be crying if I could.
    The last time this happened, I was in class- a community college, not important- and an intense feeling of dread just fell over me and absorbed every last drop of thought going through my head. I know this may or may not sound absolutely f-ing insane but please bear with me. Following this, and after almost completely missing the lecture, my brain decided that now was a great time to remember that everyone left us and we will die very, very soon alone and afraid. This feeling passed but I don't think I have ever been so close in my life. It took a direct injection of Two Steps from Hell and no small amount of repeating "No More" in the context of Doctor Who to bring me back.