1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thought I was straight..now I'm dating a girl

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by rose135, Mar 17, 2015.

1. rose135

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi all,

I'm so confused about everything and really need some outside perspective on things. I'll keep this as short as possible.

Growing up, I was always sure I was straight. I had crushes on boys starting in 4th grade--heart pounding, sweaty palms, giggling when they're around, the usual stuff. I had crushes all through high school, but I never dated anyone or had any sort of sexual experiences. In college I had one major crush, a guy in my year who I liked for 2 years (but went out with my best friend so nothing happened). I kissed a couple of boys but never did anything sexual or had much desire to.

I started dating when I graduated college, when I was about 22 (I'm currently almost 24). I went out with about 5-6 guys, either from online or who I met randomly. I always ended up breaking things off with them after about 3 dates, just about when things would start to get sexual. My reasons were usually "a personality thing" or "just not attracted to them". I never felt much toward these guys, and felt bad that they liked me more than I liked them. Kissing was nice and I fooled around with one guy, but I never wanted to do anything more.