1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

An Old Debt

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by MongolianBeef, Apr 30, 2015.

1. MongolianBeef

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hello everyone. This post is unrelated to LGBT issues, but because I am a member of the LGBT community, I feel more comfortable seeking help from those who are also in the community. I apologize in advance for the lengthiness of the post.

Last summer, I studied abroad in China through a program offered by my university. I was not able to cover the full cost of the program, so I started looking for ways to help fund the trip. My mother's mother offered to help cover the cost because (I'm paraphrasing here) she really wanted to see me succeed in my studies. The terms of accepting the money were that I needn't feel guilty for accepting it and that we would discuss repayment in the future. Having previously had a bad experience with borrowing money from her side of the family, I was reluctant to accept it. Ultimately, however, I was too desperate (or just too dumb) to say "No." I had no other options.