1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New family with new unexplored questions...

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Greywolf149, Jun 6, 2015.

1. Greywolf149

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Hello everyone,

I'm a 58 year old straight, but LGBT friendly male who has a question about appropriateness. I fully admit that I have little experience with the gay community, so in some cases, my questions may seem trite or uninformed. But I'll let you be the judge of that. Here's the situation...

I'm about ready to enter the lives of a new family. I'm very much in love with a woman my age who has a lovely lesbian daughter in a relationship with another sweet woman, and we'll all soon live in a new home together. We are all friends, and they've known from the start that I am their advocate when it comes to being treated fairly and without prejudice. My question has to do with appropriateness.

The family is very loving - hugs and kisses are the norm and I find it very sweet and reminiscent of my own family. No wonder I fell in love with their matriarch... :slight_smile:. But lately, I've noticed that out of habit, when I hug the two daughters, I will almost always automatically kiss them on the side of the head as I would be prone to do with my own daughter (if I had one). It occurred to me recently, that I probably would not do that if the person was male. It's an affection that few straight men express to each other.