1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Living at home

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by sweetfemme90, Jun 25, 2015.

1. sweetfemme90

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Background story for context- skip the next 2 paragraphs if you just want to get to the point.

So I am 24 and have been living with my parents for the past year in order to figure out my life. I graduated with a liberal arts degree and was rejected from 2 graduate schools. After more education on my career choice, I found a better way to get there that would ensure I would have a job. Before I wanted to be a counselor but now I want to be a psychiatric nurse. I live in Canada so if I am a psych nurse I can be hired by government agencies (more financial security for me) instead of searching for work in private organizations (non-profit, private practice).

So living with my parents at 24 is difficult and most things are workable because this is all temporary. Over the past year I upgraded my math and science courses to be able to take a nursing program. I worked my ass off and now I am able to take a practical nursing course and later take a bridging program to become a registered nurse, followed by another 2 year program to become a psychiatric nurse. My path in life is not linear and I have road blocks (rejected from the RN program, lack of cash, slow start).

Okay now let's get to the point

My parents are okay with me being gay but they are very judgmental. Some of the friends I have had were a little eccentric or did not fall under societal norms. So even if I made friends with people I would not feel comfortable bringing them to my house. It bothers me when my father makes twisted faces or says something about 'the-dude-in-the-dress' and misusing pronouns. It just starts a fight.

The thing is I feel lonely.