1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Feeling lonely

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Ipsych, Jul 15, 2015.

1. Ipsych

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hello friends,

I really would like your support and insight. I am a 24 year-old graduate student in Long Beach, CA. I know it's quite silly as to why I* writing. I would like to know if they way I am feeling is unusual. To back track, over the past year and a half I have feeling lonely and depressed. I am 24 year-old virgin. I have never been in a relationship. I have never been kissed. I don't know why this bothers me so much now. A couple years ago this was a nonissue. I see my friends who all have either have a boyfriend or girlfriend and I feel so lonely. I see them so happy and I can't help but long for someone who will make me happy. I have tried going on dating sites, but dating sites have been a flop. I have tried going to some gay clubs but to no avail. Plus, people in these club seem a bit stuck up. I know I am not attractive and it also doesn't help being fat in the gay community as I have come to find out. I have been referred to as eww and disgusting. It just hurts. I would like to find someone who is kind and genuinely cares about me. Sometimes I think there is no one out there for me.

Thank you all for listening.*

2. Gravity

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    To answer your question - no, it's not unusual. :slight_smile: It's actually fairly common for lgbt folks to take a bit longer on some of these things - first kiss, first relationship, etc. - because of the extra baggage that comes with the lgbt gig.

You mention not really being bothered by this until a year and a half ago - did anything happen that made you start feeling this way? You mention that other friends are starting to have relationships...anything else?