1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

He said he likes me but I'm confused by what he meant by that

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by vortices, Oct 18, 2015.

1. vortices

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    This is my first time posting here- and I've been a long time lurker and found this site very helpful (thank you)!

Anyhow, I'm 25 years old, and after dealing with my feelings where I suppressed most thoughts of my own identity for ten years (identity and behavior I kept separate), I finally came out to a few friends as bisexual, or at the very least, not straight. One of my friends is gay (let's call him friend #2) took me a long time to figure it out but I inferred it from his facebook) and he and I have the same straight best friend (friend #1).

Anyhow, he seems to have been warmer (was aloof in the past) towards me since I came out to him and was glad that I was willing to talk to him. Thing is, he intimidates me because he came across as really intense (in terms of academics) and aloof in the past and I was pretty cautious (mainly because I was going through my own set of issues with school and didn't want to be thrown under the bus if he found out, which he never did when I finally told him). When he and I sat down in the past there was usually an awkward silence until I finally broke the ice and talked about school.

He and I are talking more and he's taken it upon himself to give me a lot of constructive criticism (in overall life and in school- the advice was helpful, and he wasn't mean about it, he talks in a positive way about how I can improve myself) and the last person to have done that was my best friend in high school. He's also asked how I'm doing when he knew I was stressed and isolated. So he's showing himself to be a good friend who cares about me all along, which surprises me.