1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running away from relationships

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by pgc317, Nov 18, 2015.

1. pgc317

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Like all of my posts here, this is gonna be a random rant of various things. I apologize for the ambiguity in advance.

So I recently met a guy who is a senior in college (I'm a freshman myself). We hit it off and he actually found me attractive, something that really boosted my self esteem. We went on a date (he invited me, drove us there, and paid) and I generally had a good time. But that's where my problems arise.

Looking back on the whole experience, I hate myself for everything I'm about to say.

He's not definitively masculine or feminine acting, but he definitely has a more feminine persona than masculine persona. I THOUGHT I was fine with that, and generally I don't give a **** if someone is masc or fem. But the entire time we were on the date at this little brunch cafe, all I could think was that everyone was watching us and listening to our conversation and knew we were gay and together because he wasn't covering his identity.

I instantly became paranoid.

I've been trying to avoid him ever since, again, something I hate myself for. I told him I didn't want a relationship but I wanted to be friends. He agreed, but said he was open to something more. The bottom line is, even though I said I wanted to be friends, I'm avoiding hanging out with him because I'm ashamed. I fear being associated with someone who's easy to "read" as gay and people thinking we're a couple. It breaks my heart because he is such a nice guy. I truly don't want to be anything more than friends with him though, but I can't even do that because of all my hangups.