1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fallen in love with roommate - need advice badly

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by ts49, Nov 28, 2015.

1. ts49

Hey guys. This is my first post here. Short story is, I'm a freshman in college and my roommate is my best friend. He's straight and has a girlfriend and I'm gay (completely closeted). We've been friends for like 8 years and best friends for 2 years and I am completely in love with him. I know that the best idea for my own sake would be to move out. However, I'm not ready to come out of the closet, so if I move out, he won't understand why. Also, I do not know who I would room with if I did move out. If I stay, then I'll keep my close relationship with him but I will just get more confused and I know I will end up hurting myself in the future. He is very touchy and huggy and it makes me so confused. Please help. What should I do? Thanks.

2. SonicBoom

Hi Ts49, welcome to EC.

You are in a predicament.

Can you use the excuse of needing more room for yourself and moving out by yourself for a month or two? Will you be able to afford it?

Within those two months that you moved out by yourself, hopefully your current roommate would have found himself another roommate besides you.

After you stayed by yourself for a month or two, you can advertise you are looking for another potential roommate.

If your school is close to where your parents live, would you be comfortable moving back in with your parents for a month or two?( under the guise of needing to save money)

When your current roommate has found another roommate, you can move back onto the dorm or find other living arragements closer to school.

Also, some straight guys are just more comfortable with being touchy feely with other men whom they think are straight. (Bromance) . I wouldn't read too much into it.

I wish you the best.(*hug*)