1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nervous to go over to my boyfriend's house?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by RavenTheRat, Nov 29, 2015.

1. RavenTheRat

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    All but family
    GET YOUR MIND OUT OF THE GUTTER
    Okay so now that I've taken care of that

I have anxiety, and this is my first time in a relationship. I have discovered something. Relationships make me really anxious. Like, REALLY anxious.
    My boyfriend's birthday is in about a month and he wants me to come over to just you know, watch a movie. For a normal person, no big deal.

I am not a normal person. I told him that I don't know whether I'll be free (I will, I have pretty much zero obligations besides school) because I freaked out. It's just.... I don't know. I'm so frustrated right now because I've never wished so much that I could just be normal. Instead of needing moral support just to go over to someone's house. I'm so nervous about everything when it comes to this. The problem is I HATE drawing attention to myself. And I love my boyfriend, don't get me wrong. But, he tends to be an attention-drawing person.

When we're alone, I'm not anxious at all. I'm fine, and I always have a good time. That's why I know the problem isn't the relationship ITSELF. It's when we're in PUBLIC that I freak out and act basically possesed (bless him for putting up with me might I add).

I just..... feel stuck, I guess.

To be honest, it's less that attention is actually drawn to me and more that I THINK attention is being drawn to me.

Any advice for maybe.. I don't know, dealing with this? I'd be really grateful.

2. Connorcode

Connorcode Guest

Everyone's their own kind of normal; everyone's different and that's not a problem.