1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rules of bisexuality.

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Secrets5, Dec 6, 2015.

1. Secrets5

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hello,

Can bisexual people only date other bisexuals? Or can you date anybody else willing to have you? And if you're bisexual, well, what's the difference between that and pansexual?

Thank-you.

2. RyeTheDauphin

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Bisexuality means being attracted to men and women. This can apply romantically and sexually, and sometimes bi people like one gender more than the other. For instance, I have a friend who considers himself a biromantic homosexual (he's romantically attracted to both genders but only sexually attracted to men).

I have no experience in dating and social codes, but I don't see any reason why bi people can't date straight, gay or other bi people. Unfortunately there's a lot of stigma surrounding bisexual people because of ideas that they sleep around a lot, aren't committed and are actually gay or straight only and just 'won't pick a side', which are stereotypes and aren't true in all cases.

As for the difference between bi and pan, I've always wondered that myself, but I did some quick googling and from what I can gather, being bi is about being attracted to someone within the boy/girl gender binary, while pan people can be attracted to trans, intergender, agender or genderqueer people etc. Pan people can be attracted to any gender while bi people are restricted to cis boys and girls.

Again, I could be wrong about the bi/pan thing. It just seems like that from the conversations I've had and the googling I've done.

3. Distant Echo

There are no rules.

You date who you want to date. Don't let others outdated ideas control your life.

4. HunGuy

HunGuy Guest