1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting Over First Break Up- Still Closeted

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by schwab22, Dec 7, 2015.

1. schwab22

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    This is my first time on this website, so I don't really know how to start things out. I am bisexual and have known that I am attracted to men and women since I was 11 or 12. I come from a very religious family though and as such have never even dared express my attraction towards other men for fear of their reaction. Now I am away at college and I finally felt like it was time to explore this part of myself. I signed up for a dating website, started chatting with guys online, and started going on dates. I met one guy and we really just hit it off. We had a lot in common and he really just understood me (he had grown up in a similar background and we had many of the same likes and dislikes.) Anyway, we started dating and it was amazing. After our second date we were so surprised at how happy and comfortable we both felt, as well as how quickly we had developed strong feelings for each other. We dated for about a month and then one day he asked me to pick him up so we could talk. I was a bit nervous, but things were going great so I didn't think too much of it. On our drive he told me this was hard for him, but that he had already suffered in the closeted and didn't want to be pulled back in with me. He told me he deserved better and that even though he really loved me he wanted to break up... I was completely blindsided and did not know how to react. So I dropped him back off at his apartment, and then proceeded to cry the whole way home. It's been a few days now and I am so depressed. I just am confused, and hurt, and sad, and as much as I want to I just can't get over him. The hardest part is I am completely closeted (My family and good frien