1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Being An Adult At Home Sucks

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Anonymous, Dec 21, 2015.

1. Anonymous

I seriously hate the way my life has gone. I stupidly, so freaking stupidly agreed to move back home with my parents after college. I had a job, granted it wasn't a good one, but I could've worked things out to get on a more stable track....... I have a college education. Now, I am stuck in an area I am completely unfamiliar with, and I am just starting to meet people in this new city.......... and I'm stuck living with my parents. I have a job through the computer, but the pay is completely to shit...... and barely covers anything. I have a college degree, and I could get various sorts of work....... I'm just not sure what I want to do in the end for my career, and I've been taking time to figure things out. Recently, I came out to my family........ and they took it better than I expected. They didn't kick me out or threaten to or anything. They even have said that they love and support me regardless and that they accept me. I told them 9 months ago, but it's only been the past few months that it's been believed more seriously. It's only been the past few weeks that it has been more solidly established as a serious thing. Although they say that they accept me, when I have asked, they have admitted that they find it "unsettling" and that they may find it more "unsettling" should I ever end up being involved with another guy. They've said though that they will stick by me and support me no matter what though. However, they also say that they don't want "this happening under their roof". I don't know what to make of that, maybe this is somewhat common amongst families that are "accepting"........ I mean I don't know, I guess I've heard this whole "not under my roof" thing with regard to things between opposite sex couples. It ju