1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need relationship advice

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by transatlantic, Dec 27, 2015.

1. transatlantic

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Just a few :slight_smile:icon_bigg) important details before my question. I'm a female and I have a girlfriend. We've been together for a year. I'm 23 and she's 22. I am a teacher and live in a different city. She's from my hometown and she's still in the university finishing her course. I live independently, she lives with her parents and the whole family.

She has depression. Several times I witnessed her panic attacks (because of her Mom or Dad, they shout at each other a lot and it triggers her attacks). Sometimes because of other problems (when we disagree on important things). I can always calm her down, but I also want her to get professional help. Cause she hurts herself, she admitted she tried to commit suicide before. She had very destructive relationships in the past. Her ex GF physically and emotionally hurt her as well.

I am a different type of person and I live by my values. I respect and care about her so much. I never hurt her physically or emotionaly. I talk to her, ecourage her to do the things she loves, etc. My point is we have a healthy relationship.

I've been coming home for the past year just to visit her. And most of the time I stay home with her. Her Mom constantly asked me if we were together, I always denied it cause I know she'd flip out when she finds out. I always said we were just friends.