1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I tell my roommate?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by PennyT, Jan 28, 2016.

1. PennyT

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm a freshman in college, and I live in the dorms. I was placed with a wonderful roommate. We get along very well, and she puts up with my weird ranting. We're planning on renting an apartment together next year.

I just recently realized that I'm probably gay. Should I tell her? She is supportive of LGTBQ+ rights, but so are my sisters, and my sisters are sometimes uncomfortable around lesbians. I don't know if my sexuality would make her uncomfortable. Does she deserve to know before we sign a year-long lease together?

I'm not fully confident with my sexuality yet. I've only known for a couple of days, but if we're going to find other living arrangements for next year, I need to know soon. And if that happens, I don't know who to room with. I don't know many people in college, and a lot of the people I do know are not pro-gay and/or I'm not comfortable living with them.

What should I do? Help!

2. Euler

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    A few people
    If you are planning out to come out at some point during your common residency I think it is only fair and smart to talk about this beforehand. Suppose she was not comfortable with this after you signed a lease and you came out to her. How awkward would life then be? Plus if this happens soon after signing the lease she might think you sort of mislead her.