1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need to leave someone I care about

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by circusnails, Feb 5, 2016.

1. circusnails

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I thought I was bi, but the results are in and I don't think that's the case anymore. I'm fairly certain I'm just a lesbian. Or with very little interest in men.

I've been in my current relationship (with a man) for almost 5 years. We live together and he helps to support me. I've had a really difficult time finding work in the area we live in after I graduated and I have been struggling financially.

I need to come out to him. Unfortunately, my self revelation came the day before his birthday. So I waited. It's now the day after his birthday and I'm faced with the dilemma of what to do.

I'm not really questioning what to say. But I don't know how to be (financially) out on my own at this point. I need to speak with my close friends and figure out a plan, because although he is a wonderful person, I wouldn't expect him to want to continue living with me. I'm considering moving back in with my parents if need be, but that's a drive across the country that I'm not ready for. But how do I even prepare for that, when he doesn't know about any of this?

I feel like I'm taking advantage of him. I feel like I'm just biding my time until I don't have to lean on him anymore, that isn't what I want at all. But I don't know if I can approach him about this without a solid plan of where to go and what to do.

I love him very much, but not in the way that I should. Not in the way that he deserves to be loved. This is going to hurt him and I really wish I didn't feel the way I do. I'm the type of person to rip the band-aid off, so I'm anxious to just talk to him about it. But I'm so scared of the consequences.

2. mapleluv