1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I barely understand the gay friend who's being protective of me

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by vortices, Feb 15, 2016.

1. vortices

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    About a few months ago, I posted on this forum asking if a specific gay friend of mine liked me or not. Probably should provide an update on this and I'd like to hear your input/hear me vent.

To give a bit of a background, I had a closeted double life for about 4.5 years back in my hometown (Phoenix) where I hooked up with guys. I lied to them about my name, major, where I went to high school, career goals and my ethnicity (I'm multiracial) to prevent any information from getting back to my parents or friends. When I arrived in Washington, DC, I did the same (only with my name), instead I told the truth about what I studied and where I went the school, and now I tell the truth.

About six months ago, I came out to one gay friend and a mutual (straight) best friend. The gay friend was warmer to me after I came out to him, and our straight best friend took a while to adjust, probably because both of his close friends aren't straight. That being said, it doesn't affect anything between us and the mutual best friend, if anything a lot of the aloofness the straight best friend had at first was all in my head.

I knew the gay friend had an alpha personality type (he's more outward, I'm also more alpha but I'm just quiet and very stubborn). If anything the gay friend turned out to be absolutely unafraid to constructively criticize me and force me to look in the mirror, figuratively speaking, and he told me several months ago that the reason he did that was because he liked me.