1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lesbian in an unsatisfying hetero relationship?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by TheGiftedStars, Mar 22, 2016.

1. TheGiftedStars

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    I'm 17 and a demiromantic lesbian.
    I've been in this relationship with this straight guy for about a year and 2 months now.
    This is my first time dating anyone.

A little background story of how I got into this relationship:
    Before we dated, I was in love with my best friend who turned out to be very religious and homophobic. She and I have known each other since elementary school. I confessed in 7th grade. She didn't take it so well. Things were a bit awkward but eventually I was over it; I don't think she was though as she was beginning to get a little distant from me...but I was in denial that anything was wrong. On the first day of high school, I saw her and she automatically walked in a different direction. Eventually, she told me after school one day that we couldn't be friends anymore and that she became a member of her church and believes "marriage is between a man and a woman."

I cried for two weeks straight after that...

My grades dropped, I completely fell into depression and was lethargic. My mom is also religious and doesn't support me emotionally either. Eventually, my love for her ended after 6 years.

Anyway, a year and a half later, I decided that I didn't want to be alone anymore and I needed a new start in love. Maybe something to distract myself..? And because it's high school, I wanted something superficial and just something casual and light--nothing serious.
    This guy and I got a class together and we had a really awesome time, lots of laughs, my day was pretty good once I got out of there.