1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Housemate came out to me as bisexual

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by mlansing, Mar 27, 2016.

1. mlansing

Sorry, bit of a long one....

I'm a graduate student and I live in a shared house with three other students like me. One of my housemates is this guy who is one of my best friends. He originally moved into my house because he was dating a girl in the house, but she broke up with him and moved away. Before she moved away, though, she and I started dating after he had moved into the house. Because I'm gay the relationship obviously fell apart, but I had lost my virginity to her, and he was heartbroken to have to witness us being together in the same house (he told her before she moved out that she was the love of his life).

While I was dating the girl she had revealed to me that her ex was interested in guys and girls. After she moved out I gradually began to accept my sexuality, and once she was out of the picture he and I started to become good friends. I made a semi pass at him at one point but he was not receptive. Months later he was one of the first people I came out to and he was very supportive, although a bit stand-offish at first. I later heard him in a conversation tell someone that he was straight so I figured that must have been the reason he wasn't receptive to my semi pass at him and I moved on. Meanwhile our friendship continued to grow.