1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Living with parents in your 20s

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by beowoolf, May 6, 2016.

1. beowoolf

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Just wondering if anyone else is in a similar boat:

I'm 22 and I still live with my parents. Reason being I'm a student and it saves money and I'm in a really good school for what I want to study. So I can't move out until graduation, which is 1-2 years from now depending on my course schedules.

Living with my parents is, on the whole, not bad. My folks are supportive people who have always respected my privacy and identity. However, they get very paranoid when I go out and have to come home alone late. Their idea of late is like 11pm-12am. I don't have a "curfew" per se but if I'm not home by this time they start panicking and will refuse to go to bed until they hear me come back inside. It's guilt-trippy because they work and have to get up early in the morning even on weekends. They're also really paranoid about people my age driving, and get antsy when I drive to places or go in a friend's car to go camping or skiing or whatever.

I know this isn't a big deal and probably sounds very first-world-problems-ish, but at this stage in my life I want to be out of the house more and socializing and meeting people and doing things like go to shows, stay out late, go on road trips. I'm not a reckless teenager who doesn't understand the dangers of the night. In fact I daresay I'm more cautious than most people by age. Thing is, my parents don't care how mature I am, they're convinced that the world is out to rape and murder young females and it's not worth taking the risk AT ALL.

Dating is also awkward. I'd like to invite people home...but my parents are NEVER out and it's just plain awkward having a partner over with them under the same roof.