1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Gay 101?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by TigerStripes, May 27, 2016.

1. TigerStripes

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Basics:

male
    20 years old
    virgin
    probably gay?

Story time:

I graduated high school without any real interest in relationships of any kind. After I moved 200 miles for college, I got my first/only/last(?) girlfriend. For a while, I was sure that it was the most real attraction I'd experienced. A year passed, and it eventually became clear that we never really progressed past "really close friends" and that I didn't want to. We split up amicably, and ever since, I've spent a lot of time thinking about guys.
    Sexuality-wise, the short story is that I need to at least try dating a dude. I have no interest in hook-ups, just a real relationship.

Concerns:

I'm afraid that I'll change my mind again. I was REALLY convinced I was in love with that girl, and if I'm going to back out of the whole thing, I don't want to pull someone into that whole mess.
    How do I meet guys? I hadn't even figured out how to talk to girls yet. Does it ever ruin things to try to start something with a friend when they turn out to be strictly straight? Are there ways to meet guys that don't involve that risk (ones that aren't just for hook-ups)? The whole concept makes me anxious.
    My current living situation would require the closet. Is that okay to put on someone? What kind of frustrations come out of being on the other side of that?

A lot of this, I think I just needed to say, but I'd love to have other peoples' experience where I don't have any.

2. CameOutSwinging

Hey man! Thanks for posting. All valid stuff, let me offer some advice.