1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you have a relationship but not be out at work?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by skittleALY, Jun 29, 2016.

1. skittleALY

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Family only
    I've been talking to this girl and we're getting on really great. I really want to meet her and see where it goes, but I'm scared of being out and people that I work around finding out. I work in the sports world, and coach at a high school and most importantly am scared of the girls that I coach finding out. That's happened once before to a local coach and the players that she coached were horrible about it. I'm not one to be ashamed of my sexuality, but at this stage of my career where I'm just getting started I don't think that they necessarily need to know.

How do you start a relationship when you're in a situation like that? Do I let her know that or? I don't feel the need to hide out when I'm out and such, but just don't feel the need to be letting everyone know - if that makes sense.

I'm really liking her, but am just scared that I'll get scared I guess - last time I was only talking to someone very briefly my mom saw it and started saying stuff like it would be bad if the team found out and such. I know she was just being protective as a mom, but it definitely freaked me out because of what she was saying...

Just looking for some support and advice I guess!

2. confusedbubble

Does this girl work at the same place as you, you didn't say.

I would go for it and see where it goes you could tell the girl that you're out to everyone except your work due to just starting and in the field, if she's into you she'll be understanding of your situation.