1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Long Distance and Open Relationships

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Davey, Jul 9, 2016.

1. Davey

Okay, so there is a long story here that I don't really have time to type out right now, but to make it short: I've been talking to my love from Greece for three years now. We ended up in an open relationship. This wasn't really the relationship I was looking for but I love him very much, and I know he loves me too. He just also happens to love another. There have been a few others before we became anything official. I have loved him for a long time but a few months back I almost left him for good and he realized just how much I mean to him.
    We have really rough patches still, its all very new and like I said not really what I expected.
    I guess what I need the advice on is how to handle such things. How do you love someone who also loves another? With so much space in between us I often take things the wrong way or overreact. I am prone to depression and high anxiety. He has been pretty good at dealing with this as well with only the occasional slip.
    I dunno, maybe I just need someone who is going or had gone through a similar situation to talk to.

2. HBI

HBI

If this isn't the relationship you were looking for, you should leave. With the rough patches, it's going to end anyway. I get the impression you have to walk on eggshells when communicating with him. Who needs that. He's having his cake, and we'll you know the rest. My LDR is about to end, and it's my second LDR, you can't trust them. They're always hiding something, or have to date outside their country, because they're too unstable to find anyone local. Lesson learned.

3. FutureDoctor

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family